Florence: Day 1

I don’t like having expectations because that only leads to being let down.  But in the back of my mind I expected Florence to be my favorite Italian destination.  I’m not exactly sure what led to that expectation, probably a combination of a lot of things.  It is considered the birthplace of the Renaissance, so that means great architecture and art.  There’s Brunelleschi’s dome of the Florence Duomo.  There’s Michelangelo’s David.  There’s the de Medici influence.  And there’s a small fact that I learned only upon arrival; the Florence city symbol is the giglio or fleur-dy-lys.  I love the fleur-dy-lys especially since its also Louisville’s symbol.  I could go on and on.  I’ve only been in the city for a little over 24 hours and I’ve yet to be disappointed.  I love Florence.  Here’s some shots for your enjoyment.

Florence duomo in moped's mirror reflection

Florence duomo in moped's mirror reflection

Brunelleschi's dome- truly a feat of architecture and engineering

Brunelleschi's dome- truly a feat of architecture and engineering

Interior painting of Dome

Interior painting of Dome

View from atop the Dome

View from atop the Dome

Palazzo Vecchio

Palazzo Vecchio

Ponte Vecchio over the River Arno

Ponte Vecchio over the River Arno

Bird's eye view of Florence

Bird's eye view of Florence

View of Ponte Vecchio from Piazzale Michelangiolo

View of Ponte Vecchio from Piazzale Michelangiolo

Bridge across the River Arno at dusk

Bridge across the River Arno at dusk

Check back tomorrow for sights from Day 2 in Florence.

About this entry