Get Into Heaven Free Card

On one hand, of all the people I know I’m probably the least likely to want an audience with the Pope.  On the other hand, I’m probably the most in need of an audience with the Pope.  So when I was offered a ticket to an audience with His Holiness I couldn’t say no.  Sure it was an audience in the thousands, but you can’t pass up the opportunity to not only see the Pope but receive a blessing from the Pope.  By my estimation this greatly helps my chances for heaven and in the end can’t hurt.

When we went to the Vatican on Wednesday we had no idea it was the day of the Pope’s weekly audience.  Hanging out with the Pope was only the beginning of a spectacular day in the Vatican.  After the blessing from the Pope, I spotted of all people, Hall of Fame jockey Jerry Bailey.  He autographed my “Get Into Heaven Free Card” after a short but cordial chat.  Then after seeing the Sistine Chapel, I gazed upon the interior of St. Peter’s which my be the most beautiful building I have ever set eyes.  Truly stunning.  As the sun began to set in the West the church filled with light and it was amazing.  Do enjoy the photos.

His Holiness, Pope Benedict XVIth

His Holiness, Pope Benedict XVIth

The freakin Pope-mobile!

The freakin Pope-mobile!

Bird's eye view of Saint Peter's Square

Bird's eye view of Saint Peter's Square

The Sistine Chapel (apparently photos were forbidden, too bad they tucked the sign away in the corner)

The Sistine Chapel (apparently photos were forbidden, too bad they tucked the sign away in the corner)

The Dome of St. Peter's

The Dome of St. Peter's

Let the sun shine in

Let the sun shine in

More light play inside St. Peter's

More light play inside St. Peter's

St. Peter's at night.  Look the Pope is still up.  He went to bed at 11:03

St. Peter's at night. Look the Pope is still up. He went to bed at 11:03

Bramante's Tempietto

Bramante's Tempietto

About this entry