Ciao Italy!

Wow, that went quickly.  After spending a month in Italy I have moved onto to Germany.  Currently I’m in Munich and will be splitting the next 6 days between Munich and Berlin.  Many more adventures lie ahead in the 2 weeks of travel I have remaining, but before I begin with stories/photos from Germany, I’m going to recap my 30 days in Italy.

– I left for Italy with little taste for wine.  Funny how things change after nearly a month of wine with every dinner.  I’m still partial to red wine and I certainly found my favorite in Bergamo.  I guess that happens in a country not really known for its beer.

– Italy is a land of both natural beauty and man made beauty.  The variable landscapes matched with the brilliant architecture is truly a sight to behold.  And I think I may have mentioned this before but the women are quite nice as well.

– I’m quite sure Florence was my favorite place along the way.  Rome follows at a close second.  Though I don’t want to sell Verona short, as it offered so much in such a small and not so touristy city.  I don’t think I liked Venice as much as most people do and I never need to visit Bergamo again (well except maybe for the wine).  We were stationed in Milan while we worked at the Politecnico and while it was a great host city, you don’t need more than 2 days as a tourist.

– I wish America could get its act together and provide a system of trains, subways, and walking that makes it easy to get just about anywhere.  Rome was disappointing with a limited subway system, but on the whole Italy has its public transportation figured out.

– I got to play with more cool tools in 2 weeks at Crespi d’Adda then I did in 6 years of formal education.  I’m a big believer in hands on experience so I think I will be situated pretty well heading into the real world thanks to the tests I participated in at Crespi.

– All in all the food in Italy was quite tasty but in particular I’d like to find recipes for gnocchi and Colletta alla Milanese.  They were consistently tasty through out Italy.  While I haven’t grown into a pasta and pizza lover, I think if its prepared the Italian way I’ll be more ready to make it a regular part of my diet.

– I’m pretty sure I’ve visited enough churches, seen enough paintings of Jesus and Madonna, and just about everything Roman Catholic that I have a pretty good chance when it comes to the Second Coming.

– Italy was more than I ever imagined it could be.  The study abroad at Crespi d’Adda with the BSU and Politecnico di Milano students was a blast.  All the sights and sounds of Como, Bergamo, Verona, Venice, Florence, and Rome were amazing.  I can see myself going back to Italy one day, after I visit my other top places.

Check back tomorrow for the first pictures and stories from Deutschland!

About this entry