Ich bin ein Berliner

Wow, there is so much to see in Berlin.  After taking an overnight train from Munich we took to the streets early to see as many points of interest.  There are more than one can imagine and the sampling of photos I’m going to show you doesn’t even illustrate the entire day.  In the end it almost seems like it was a tour of projects done by architects of whom many would consider the greatest of the last 20 years.  That can be debated but nevertheless some great highlights from Berlin.

The iconic Bradenburg Gate at Pariser Platz

The iconic Bradenburg Gate at Pariser Platz

The interior of Frank O. Gehry's bank on the Pariser Platz

The interior of Frank O. Gehry's bank on the Pariser Platz

The interior of Sir Norman Foster's cuppola for the German Reichstag

The interior of Sir Norman Foster's cuppola for the German Reichstag

Overall view of the German Reichstag

Overall view of the German Reichstag

Intriguing architecture at the Potsdamer Platz

Intriguing architecture at the Potsdamer Platz

Signpost marking where the Berlin Wall once stood

Signpost marking where the Berlin Wall once stood

Peter Eisenmann's Memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe- I don't get it.  It didn't work as a memorial for me

Peter Eisenmann's Memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe- I don't get it. It didn't work as a memorial for me

Bombed out remains of Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church- I was disappointed by the "museum" the ruins have become

Bombed out remains of Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church- I was disappointed by the "museum" the ruins have become

Interior of new church that replaced Kaiser Wilheml Memorial Church

Interior of new church that replaced Kaiser Wilheml Memorial Church

I am still working on a post about the architecture of Dachau and how a memorial and museum were integrated into the site of absolute horrors.  It relates very closely the where I began research on my thesis topic and I’d like to explore it further in a dedicated post.

Also check back for more of Berlin!

About this entry