A Little Buda a Little Pest

At the end of the day I judge a city based on two things:

1) How dirty are my feet, and
2) How many photographs have I taken

If both the filth on my feet is thick and the number of photographs I have taken is high than the city is a winner in my book.  Budapest ranks up there with the best.  Despite waking at 4AM to catch the S-Bahn to the Berlin airport I took to the streets of Budapest for over 6 hours.  Because in the end the best way to experience a city is on foot walking the streets.  Today I took in a little of Buda and a little of Pest.  Tomorrow I will do the same.  Here are some of the offerings from Budapest today.  (Note: The weather conditions made it difficult to get great photographs.  The sun was high.  The sun was bright.  There wasn’t a cloud in the sky.  It was HOT!  Some photos may appear just a tad bit washed out.)

The Basilica of St. Christoper- his mummified arm is inside

The Basilica of St. Christoper- his mummified arm is inside

Interior of St. Christopher's- one of the most beautiful churches I've seen (and I was just in Italy!)

Interior of St. Christopher's- one of the most beautiful churches I've seen (and I was just in Italy!)

The foyer of the Opera House.  I think I'm going back tomorrow for a tour of the interior

The foyer of the Opera House. I think I'm going back tomorrow for a tour of the interior

The Chain Bridge- the first connection of Buda and Pest

The Chain Bridge- the first connection of Buda and Pest

The Hungarian Parliament- close up

The Hungarian Parliament- close up

The Hungarian Parliament from across the Danube- where you see its true beauty

The Hungarian Parliament from across the Danube- where you see its true beauty

A molestor van if I have ever seen one, I think Keith has one

A molestor van if I have ever seen one, I think Keith has one

The spires of Matyas Church- the whole damn thing was under scaffold

The spires of Matyas Church- the whole damn thing was under scaffold

The Hungarian through an arch of the Fisherman's Bastion

The Hungarian through an arch of the Fisherman's Bastion

The chains of Chain Bridge

The chains of Chain Bridge

I went back out for some night shots.  These more than make up for the day shots.  My body hated me in the morning but with results like this, it was more than worth it.

The Chain Bridge all lit up

The Chain Bridge all lit up

The Hungarian Parliament glowing in the distance

The Hungarian Parliament glowing in the distance

The Chain Bridge from above

The Chain Bridge from above

Cars whiz along the Chain Bridge

Cars whiz along the Chain Bridge

Basilica of St. Christoper down the alley

Basilica of St. Christoper down the alley

Check back tomorrow from Day 2 in Budapest.  I have arranged a flight to Prague for Sunday evening.  Its of the last leg of the European adventures.  Im going to enjoy it and it seems just about time to be wrapping things up.

About this entry