The End of the Line

Prague marks the end of my time in Europe.  Day two included a trip to the expansive castle as well as the Loretto.  Trust me when I tell you I’ve done enough “places of worship” to cover a lifetime.  I’m sure there are many more beautiful ones out there, but Hagia Sophia is the only one I must still see.  Here’s day two in pictures.

The Charles Bridge from the Castle

The Charles Bridge from the Castle

The Basilica of St. George within the Castle complex

The Basilica of St. George within the Castle complex

St. Vitus Cathedral- only took 600 years to complete

St. Vitus Cathedral- only took 600 years to complete

Chapel inside the Basilica of St. George

Chapel inside the Basilica of St. George

The Loretto- I'm pretty use I would being going straight to hell had I snapped an interior shot.  Talk about anal

The Loretto- I'm pretty sure I would being going straight to hell had I snapped an interior shot. Talk about anal

Ceiling of St. Nicholas Church or Church of St. Nicholas.  And yes they are two different churches in the city

Ceiling of St. Nicholas Church or Church of St. Nicholas. And yes they are two different churches in the city

St. Vitus towering over the rest of the city

St. Vitus towering over the rest of the city

There are no pictures of day three.  It continued to rain so I decided to bum around the hostel and get things squared away for my trip home.  For lunch I did travel around the block for some traditional Czech food.  The meal consisted of 1/2 litre of beer to start, of course, followed by goulash and bacon dumplings.  Talk about amazing.

The goulash consisted of beef, onions, pickled peppers and a brown gravy.  The bacon dumplings were just that, dumplings with bits of bacon.  They sopped up the gravy very well.  The bartender recommended a light beer to wrap things up.  And by light he meant one that was just 12% alcohol by volume.  And with that I can say I was quite satisfied with all the food offerings while in Europe.

Now comes the fun part.  My return starts at 5AM (or 11PM ET Wednesday night) when I get moving to the airport for my flight from Prague to Amsterdam.  Then I fly from Amsterdam to Newark, before catching a connection back to Louisville.  When its all said and done I should be home after just 24 hours (or 11PM ET Thursday night).  Good thing I have the weekend to recover.  Don’t worry I’ve scheduled a post for your entertainment during my travel time.

About this entry