The Rookie: Week 1 Day 2

So I’ve decided the first day of work is much like the first day of class.  It’s practically useless but absolutely necessary.  Sure I have to meet my co-workers.  Sure I have to fill out my W-4s.  Sure I have to decide between PPO and HMO.  Sure I have to do this and do that in order to make things official, but at the end of the day I’ve contributed nothing to the good of the company.  But I guess one day of filling out this and signing that, becomes quite miniscule as the days, weeks, and months of service to the company add up.  Again, its important but you feel as though it all could have been taken care of in advance.

Some observations from the first two days.

  • I know you want to make a good impression on the first day, but I was over dressed in my button up and khakis.  With the possibility of field work at a moment’s notice, nice blue jeans and polo shirts seem to rule the day.
  • I’m going to have to get used to my ears popping on the way to work.  Being on the 26th floor of a downtown high-rise means taking the express elevator every morning.
  • Two days in and I’m already scheduled to travel.  I’m heading to Washington D.C. (which by now with all my visits and not to mention living there for a summer has to be considered a 2nd home) next week.  The chance to travel, on a somewhat regular basis, was one of the reasons I was drawn to this position.
  • So much for me cutting back on my Coke in-take.  I consume roughly 48 ounces of Coke a day (I know, its too much) but with free Cokes in the office kitchen I have an easy place to turn for a late afternoon pick me up.
  • I love being able to walk out the door (from my place or the office) and being right in the middle of the action.  There’s something around every corner and the car doesn’t have to move.  A 10 minute walk and 20 minute El ride gets me to work.
  • The rat race that is moving your car to avoid the street cleanings is something I’m going to have to get used to.

That’s it for the first installment of the rookie.  Be on the look out for more updates.

About this entry