Chicago Architecture Foundation

The city of Chicago has many assets.  One of its greatest assets is the abundance of great architecture.  It is the birthplace of the skyscraper, but that is only a small portion of its rich architectural history.  Helping take advantage of this great asset is the Chicago Architecture Foundation.  The foundation offers over 60 architecture tours that range from the must do River Cruise to Downtown Deco to Modern Skyscrapers and everything in between.

A lot of the tours are offered throughout the year and at all times during the week to make participation easier for all.  Of particular interest to me are the Happy Hour tours that meet at 5:30PM during the work week and will allow me to go right from work.  This year the selection of Happy Hour tours includes a handful of tours I want to do.  With tours generally starting at $12-15 a tour, it would be in my best interest to purchase a $55 membership which includes one free ticket for every tour they offer.

Clearly the best time to do tours in Chicago are during the summer months.  So with that in mind it looks like I better start deciding which tours I want to do.  With over 60 to choose from, this may take a while.  As I assemble my list and do these tours I’ll be sure to report back with awesome photographs and interesting tidbits.  So when you’re in the area, give me a call and I’ll certainly do a Chicago Architecture Foundation tour with you.

About this entry